

UNIVERSITY OF OREGON COMMENCEMENT

# SOCIOLOGY

SUNDAY, JUNE 15, 2025



COLLEGE OF ARTS AND SCIENCES DEPARTMENT OF SOCIOLOGY

# **COMMENCEMENT CEREMONY**

# SUNDAY, JUNE 15, 2025 · 10:00 A.M. SOUTHWEST CAMPUS GREEN

# Welcoming Remarks and Introductions

Professor and Department Head

## Keynote Speaker

#### Emma Adams, J.D.

First Year Associate Pending Bar Admission, Kaufman Dolowich LLP Executive Article & Acquisition Manager, UC Law SF Journal on Gender & Justice, UO Sociology Alum, 2019

#### Presentation of Doctoral and Master's Candidates Kari Marie Norgaard

Professor, Director of Graduate Studies

## Undergraduate Honors and Awards

#### **Raoul Liévanos**

Associate Professor, Director of Undergraduate Studies

### Presentation of Baccalaureate Candidates

#### Aaron Gullickson

Associate Professor

## Recessional

## Adjournment and Reception

# UNIVERSITY HONORS

### Summa Cum Laude

Top 2 percent of the university graduating class

Eunhye Fay Luka Hart Kara Steinberg

#### Magna Cum Laude

Top 5 percent of the university graduating class

Claire Casper Kristie Chu Kristin Isenhart

## Cum Laude

#### Top 10 percent of the university graduating class

Sloan Dawson-Kolb Grace Dearborn Fiona Doyle Ruth Gacek Clara Kaplan Emma Lindquist Olivia Mcdonald Katy Morris Kellen Nesbitt Gabriel Ji-Sing Oh-Keith Amelia Steffe

# DEGREE CANDIDATES

Note: Not an official degree list. Students listed are eligible to participate in the commencement ceremony at the time this program was printed.

### **Doctoral Candidates**

#### **Christine Michelle Capili**

"Creating Panethnicity: How Discrimination and Ethnonational Identity Affect Racialized Political Alignments" Advisor: Aaron Gullickson, Associate Professor

#### Isabella Clark

"Invisible Outcasts: How Chemical Exposure Shapes Social Life" Advisor: Kari Marie Norgaard, Professor

#### **Brandon Folse**

"Enduring Disasters in a Disappearing Delta: The Past, Present, and Future Movement of People and Culture on the Louisiana Coast" Advisor: Matthew Norton, Associate Professor

### Master's Candidates

Stephanie Coonfield Matthew Guerra Jordan James

#### **Baccalaureate Candidates**

Casev Ades Samantha Armida Albin<sup>6</sup> Lindsev Alexander William Armony Dorian Azar Austin Barr Saige Baumann Samuel Buch Sophia Carleton Claire Casper<sup>2</sup> Kristie Chu<sup>24</sup> Leah Rose Clayton <sup>6</sup> Ella Cobbs<sup>4</sup> David Coodlev Supreme Cook Isabella Cornutt Julia Coulombe Sabrina Cox Abigail Craig Sloan Dawson-Kolb<sup>34</sup> Grace Dearborn <sup>3 4</sup> Shawn deCelesta Taylee Doi Fiona Doyle <sup>3 4</sup> Anjolie Enz Olivia Estrella Hunter Steel Everton Mackenzie Farmer Eunhve Fav<sup>14</sup> Isabel Ryan Fries

Kasen Cenric Ortiz-Carté Nicholas Silver Mae Sowards

Ruth Gacek <sup>3 4</sup> Morgan Rae Glinski Payton Goodlin McKayla Waptasyi Goudy Ellie Grano Olivia Grassman Nora Helen Green Monique Griffin Vanessa Anahi Gutierrez Luka Hart<sup>16</sup> Olivia Henderson Brian Hubbell Kristin Isenhart<sup>2</sup> R. J. Jacinto Taliah Johnson Mia K. Jones Clara Kaplan<sup>34</sup> Campbell Lila Keller Kelly Kleinberg Sydney Kramer Amber Krzysko<sup>3</sup> William Kyne Shemar Kyser Sarahi Larios Cruz Emma Lindquist <sup>3 4</sup> Makenzie Litty<sup>6</sup> Adriana Loera-Segovia Steven Long Anthony Lopez Sofia Margarita Martin

Taylor Masanga Jacob Matlock Kaitlin-Anne Mays Dahlia McAllister Olivia Mcdonald<sup>3</sup> **Erin McGinnes** Gavin McKercher Davis Isabella McNutt-Ouiroz Alexandra Medina Miriam Mehdi Allyson Meister Shea Mendenhall Maude Alice Petunia Mervin Mikayla Miller Hannah Lee Milton Cali Moore Katy Morris<sup>36</sup> Ray Myers Kellen Nesbitt <sup>3 4 6</sup> Jack Vincent Newman III<sup>1</sup> Izabella Nunez Gabriel Ji-Sung Oh-Keith<sup>3</sup> Brenda Ortega Forrest Peck Keilani Pike **Erin Pulkownik** Isabella Ramirez **Emily Rodriguez** Emma Roensch Silais Romero Emma Ryor Chloe Sanborn Navreet Sandhu Isabelle Sandoval Connor Michael Scannell Robin Baily Schaefer Hailey Shaw Pippa Simmons<sup>6</sup>

Amelia Steffe <sup>3</sup> Audrey Kay Steffen Kara Steinberg <sup>1,4</sup> Ella Swangard Kaitlyn Tambur <sup>6</sup> Victoria Cathryne Tippett-Gast Rodrigo Torralba Vera Lindsay Travland Alex Underwood Natalie Van Gordon Ella Wedderburn Luna Wicker Chloe Wood Megan M. Wood

# **UNIVERSITY OF OREGON**

John Karl Scholz, President Christopher P. Long, Provost and Senior Vice President Chris Poulsen, Tykeson Dean of Arts and Sciences

## **ALUMNI ASSOCIATION**

To learn more about the UO Alumni Association, visit **alumni.uoregon.edu** 

# HONORING NATIVE PEOPLES AND LANDS

The University of Oregon is located on Kalapuya Ilihi, the traditional indigenous homeland of the Kalapuya people. Following treaties between 1851 and 1855, Kalapuya people were dispossessed of their indigenous homeland by the United States government and forcibly removed to the Coast Reservation in Western Oregon. Today, descendants are citizens of the Confederated Tribes of the Grand Ronde Community of Oregon and the Confederated Tribes of the Siletz Indians of Oregon, and continue to make important contributions in their communities, at UO, and across the land we now refer to as Oregon.

We express our respect for all federally recognized tribal nations of Oregon. This includes the Burns Paiute Tribe; the Confederated Tribes of the Coos, Lower Umpqua and Siuslaw Indians; the Confederated Tribes of the Grand Ronde Community of Oregon; the Confederated Tribes of Siletz Indians of Oregon; the Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation; the Confederated Tribes of Warm Springs; the Coquille Indian Tribe; the Cow Creek Band of Umpqua Tribe of Indians; and the Klamath Tribes. We also express our respect for all other displaced Indigenous peoples who call Oregon home.

