

UNIVERSITY OF OREGON

# POLITICAL SCIENCE

SUNDAY, JUNE 15, 2025

### COLLEGE OF ARTS AND SCIENCES DEPARTMENT OF POLITICAL SCIENCE

### COMMENCEMENT CEREMONY

# SUNDAY, JUNE 15, 2025 · 1:00 P.M. SOUTHWEST CAMPUS GREEN

## Welcoming Remarks and Introductions Alison Gash

Professor and Department Head, Political Science

### Keynote Speaker Julie Fahey

Speaker of the Oregon House of Representatives, District 14

### Presentation of Doctoral and Master's Candidates Craig Kauffman

Professor, Director of Graduate Studies

### Undergraduate Honors and Awards Alison Gash

Professor and Department Head, Political Science

## Presentation of Baccalaureate Candidates **Burke Hendrix**

Professor, Associate Department Head

**Daniel Tichenor** 

Professor

Recessional

Adjournment and Reception

#### UNIVERSITY HONORS

#### Summa Cum Laude

Top 2 percent of the university graduating class

Heather Addison Thom

#### Magna Cum Laude

#### Top 5 percent of the university graduating class

Faolan Adams

Story Arney

Meghan Cotton

Cate Inman

Sarah McVeety

Robert Mitchell

Ruby Moore

Daisy O'Hearn

Tannyr Rose

Lindsey Schulze

Lilly Varner

Emillie Wagner

Jacob Miles Watson

Ryan Joseph Wright

#### Cum Laude

#### Top 10 percent of the university graduating class

Kendall Balderree Nikolay Morgun Lucy Benoit Claire Nowicki Jordan Bowers Kenzie Parrott Addison Caplinger Jenna Rasmussen Avery Cassler Evan Reynolds Gillian Grimm Scott Robinson Luke Hladun Lauren Olivia Sadek Emma Lindquist Trinity Stutsman-Knox

Trinity Minyard Arwen Thomas

#### **DEGREE CANDIDATES**

Note: Not an official degree list. Students listed are eligible to participate in the commencement ceremony at the time this program was printed.

#### **Doctoral Candidates**

#### Mary Follo

"The Politics of Preemption: Housing through the Lens of State Preemptive Policy" Advisor: Alison Gash, Professor

#### Parichehr Kazemi

"Power, Pictures, and Protest: The Dynamics of Resistance and Repression in Iranian Women's Digital Visual Activism"

Advisor: Erin Beck, Associate Professor

#### **Madison Lehua Schroder**

"Politics of the People? Examining Out-of-State Interest in United States Direct Democracy Campaigns" Advisor: Daniel Tichenor, Professor

#### **Brett D Scott**

"Risking Race: Risk Assessment and the Policing of Blackness in the United States" Advisor: Joseph Lowndes, Professor

#### Kathleen McKinzie Temple

"Engineering Mindfulness: Translating Contemplative Practice from Silicon Valley" Advisor: Gerald Berk, Professor Emeritus

¹ summa cum laude ² magna cum laude ³ cum laude ⁴ Phi Beta Kappa ⁵ Oregon Six ⁶ department honors

#### Master's Candidates

Thao Dinh Yuxuan Gao Casey Goldstein Nguyen Duc Thanh Mohammed Shakibnia Munkyoung Shin Zhuoran Wang

#### **Baccalaureate Candidates**

Thalia Angelina Abundis

Natalie Adams Faolan Adams<sup>2</sup>

Alexander Amir Aghdaei Shaianne Albright Story Arney <sup>2 4 6</sup> Sara Lizbeth Arzate

Rory Aspin

Sofia Brevis Astete Elizabeth Avant Kendall Balderree <sup>3</sup>

Jake Baur Brooke Beaton Lucy Benoit <sup>3 4 6</sup> Tyler Bird

Jaxson Bonneau
Jordan Bowers <sup>3</sup>
Brooke Bowyer
Kaylyn Brennan
Levi Britton
Brandon Broch
Alexander L. Brown

Emi Brown

Ryley Bryson Elijah Drew Yap Buan

Samuel Buch Ethan Burnham Emma Rose Bynder Henry Byrne-Kvalsvik Mia Capler

Addison Caplinger <sup>3</sup> Avery Cassler <sup>3 4</sup> Chloe Coletti Maggie Combs <sup>4</sup> Payton Cook Charlotte Coppo Meghan Cotton <sup>2 4</sup>

Josephine Leigh Cunningham Frank James Del Medico Jr. Raymond Millard Denton

Athena DiLello Mason Dirk Olivia Duff

Elli Veronica Elias Alyvia H. Embree <sup>3</sup> Ashley Michael Epstein Alexanda Itzel Espetia Matt Fernandes Noemi Flores Zoe Floyd

Eleanor Michael Foster Alexandra Cheryl Foteff

Isabel Ryan Fries

Jasen Ryu Garcia-de Guzman

Matthew Gattey
Shealy Gibbs <sup>6</sup>
Jonah Gildea
Duncan Goddard <sup>4</sup>

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> summa cum laude <sup>2</sup> magna cum laude <sup>3</sup> cum laude <sup>4</sup> Phi Beta Kappa <sup>5</sup> Oregon Six <sup>6</sup> department honors

Kimberly Collins Gomez Aaron Marc Greensfelder

Gillian Grimm<sup>3</sup> Alexis Grimshaw Emma Gunn Nathan Halpert Robert J. Hendrix Sania Hirani

Aubry Ann Chao Hirschhorn

Luke Hladun 3 4

Francesca Renee Hoff

Zoë Holguin

Yohnue Ariana Hunt Maeve Huntington Cate Inman <sup>2 4</sup> Christie Jackson Madeleine Jagels Victoria Jordan Getachew Kassa Noah Kayaian Nathaniel Kersey Pauline Kim

Mathias Lehman-Winters

Adam Levine Emma Lindquist <sup>3 4</sup> Jack Loudon

Kylie Kranz

Autumn Lukens Christina Lundahl

Rayne Alana Maldonado

Danielle Mares Izzie Marshall José Luis Maxwell Rachel McCaleb

Jacob Scott Rock-n-Roll McKee

Asher McKinnon

Scout Elizabeth McLaglen

Sarah McVeety<sup>2</sup>

Jewel Miner

Trinity Minyard <sup>3 4</sup> Robert Mitchell <sup>2 4 6</sup>

Ruby Moore <sup>2 4 6</sup> Nikolay Morgun <sup>3 4</sup> Natalie Ann Morse

Jonathan Moses Emily Mourning Sebastian Muñoz

Remy Munro J. P. Murphy Vincent Murphy Kai Naylor

Claire Nowicki <sup>3 4 6</sup>
Daisy O'Hearn <sup>2</sup>
Kaitlyn O'Rourke
Suzanne Ogilvie
Matilda Oliver
NinaFrances Olson
Natalie Ortega-Cuevas

Alec Palm Kenzie Parrott <sup>3</sup> Reed Patricelli Nicholas Payson Victoria Piñeiro Roisin Powers

Isabella McNutt Quiroz

Trayton Ramey

Joseph Angelo Ramirez III Nataly Elizabeth Ramirez

Nick Ramirez Lanev Randl

Tannyr Rose<sup>2</sup>

Jenna Rasmussen <sup>3</sup> Evan Reynolds <sup>3</sup> <sup>4</sup> Nicolas Rios Scott Robinson <sup>3</sup> <sup>4</sup>

Brynn Elizabeth Rucker

¹ summa cum laude ² magna cum laude ³ cum laude ⁴ Phi Beta Kappa ⁵ Oregon Six ⁶ department honors

Claire Russo Jessica Ryan Stefan John Sacks Lauren Olivia Sadek <sup>3 6</sup> Nicholas Saldana Ashish Sathya Evelyn Schloss

Bryan Marshall Schreiber Lindsey Schulze<sup>24</sup> Jett Shahriary Ezra Shirtcliff Miles Slayton Natali Sloan

Audrey Kay Steffen Claire Stigen<sup>3</sup> Harrison Stowell

Jack Smith

Diego Solorio

Sasha Stringer

Trinity Stutsman-Knox <sup>3</sup>

Quinn Takara

Heather Addison Thom 16

Arwen Thomas 3 4 6

Nathaniel Thornburg 3 4

Landon Treglia

Aleksei Usachenko

Teagan VanBlarcom

Lilly Varner <sup>2</sup> <sup>4</sup>

Sasha Vinson-Aninipot

Daniel Vo 6

Emillie Wagner<sup>2</sup>
Jacob Miles Watson<sup>2</sup>

Jada Woods

Ryan Joseph Wright<sup>2</sup>

Alecea Zeitler

#### UNIVERSITY OF OREGON

John Karl Scholz, President

Christopher P. Long, Provost and Senior Vice President

Chris Poulsen, Tykeson Dean of Arts and Sciences

#### **ALUMNI ASSOCIATION**

To learn more about the UO Alumni Association, visit **alumni.uoregon.edu** 

#### HONORING NATIVE PEOPLES AND LANDS

The University of Oregon is located on Kalapuya Ilihi, the traditional indigenous homeland of the Kalapuya people. Following treaties between 1851 and 1855, Kalapuya people were dispossessed of their indigenous homeland by the United States government and forcibly removed to the Coast Reservation in Western Oregon. Today, descendants are citizens of the Confederated Tribes of the Grand Ronde Community of Oregon and the Confederated Tribes of the Siletz Indians of Oregon, and continue to make important contributions in their communities, at UO, and across the land we now refer to as Oregon.

We express our respect for all federally recognized tribal nations of Oregon. This includes the Burns Paiute Tribe; the Confederated Tribes of the Coos, Lower Umpqua and Siuslaw Indians; the Confederated Tribes of the Grand Ronde Community of Oregon; the Confederated Tribes of Siletz Indians of Oregon; the Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation; the Confederated Tribes of Warm Springs; the Coquille Indian Tribe; the Cow Creek Band of Umpqua Tribe of Indians; and the Klamath Tribes. We also express our respect for all other displaced Indigenous peoples who call Oregon home.

