

UNIVERSITY OF OREGON COMMENCEMENT

PHYSICS

MONDAY, JUNE 16, 2025



COLLEGE OF ARTS AND SCIENCES DEPARTMENT OF PHYSICS

COMMENCEMENT CEREMONY

MONDAY, JUNE 16, 2025 · 4:00 P.M. EMU BALLROOM

Welcome Richard Taylor, PhD Professor and Head of Physics

Faculty Speaker Ben Farr, PhD Associate Professor, Institute for Fundamental Science, Physics

> Student Presentation Owen A. J. Mitchem

Presentation of Doctoral and Master's Candidates

Presentation of Baccalaureate Candidates

Recessional

Adjournment and Reception

Reception to be held in the Paul Olum Willamette Atrium

UNIVERSITY HONORS

Summa Cum Laude

Top 2 percent of the university graduating class

Jack Thomas Siekkinen

Magna Cum Laude

Top 5 percent of the university graduating class

Emily Patricia Reis Avey Isabelle Ann Shupe Dana Elias S. Herb Maxwell Martin Howard

Cum Laude

Top 10 percent of the university graduating class

Michaela Marie Cheechov	Jon S. Tyson
Declan Xavier Lynch	

Departmental Honors

Calvin Zachary Ajizian Emily Patricia Reis Avey Michaela Marie Cheechov Isabelle Ann Shupe Dana Aidan P. Gardner-O'Kearny Elias S. Herb Maxwell Martin Howard Holden Emmett Jose Declan Xavier Lynch Owen A.J. Mitchem Marcus Daniel Polk Jack Thomas Siekkinen Drew Jackson Tweedale Jon S. Tyson

DEGREE CANDIDATES

Note: Not an official degree list. Students listed are eligible to participate in the commencement ceremony at the time this program was printed.

Doctoral Candidates

Sarah Jade Ashby

"Characterization of Electro-Optic Phase Modulations for Arbitrary Unitary Transformations" Advisor: Brian Smith

Claire Sheffield Albrecht

"Unraveling DNA Breathing: Advancing Spectroscopic Methods to Probe Nucleobase Conformational Dynamics and Protein-DNA Interactions" Advisor: Andrew Marcus

Matthew Steven Ball

"Using Gravitational Waves as a Probe into the Interior of Isolated Neutron Stars" Advisor: Raymond Frey

Thomas Michael Bouley

"Diverse Approaches to Ultralight Dark Matter" Advisor:Tien-Tien Yu

Sean Joseph Brudney

"A Tall, Cold Glass of Calcium: Efficiently Heralding Ground Motional States and Non-Destructive Mid-Circuit Measurements in the omg Architecture" Advisor: Eric Corwin

Aileen Carroll Godfrey

"Extreme Diffusion in Physical Systems" Advisor: Eric Corwin

Marija Glisic

"Search for Heavy, Long-lived, Charged Particles with Large Ionisation Energy Loss in pp Collisions at vs= 13 TeV Using the ATLAS Experiment and the Full Run 2 Dataset" Advisor: Laura Jeanty

Jaxen Blaze Godfrey

"Population Properties of Binary Black Holes from Gravitational Wave Observations" Advisor: Ben Farr

Jesse Monroe Hall

"From Pollen Grains to Peptides: Coarse-Graining and the Brownian Motion of Molecules" Advisor: Marina Guenza

Xinzhu Li

"Towards the Quantum Regime: Ultracoherent Diamond Spin-Mechanical Resonators " Advisor: Hailin Wang

JD Merritt

"Massive Stellar Populations and the Origins of Binary Black Holes" Advisor: Ben Farr

Maxx Logan Miller

"On the Universal Physics of Smelly Flocks" Advisor: John Toner

William Spencer Parker

"Fractional Topology in Hybrid Magnetic Skyrmions" Advisor: Ben McMorran

Kevin John Randles

"A Light Treatment of Hybrid Quantum State Transfer and Photon Interference" Advisor: Steven van Enk

Shuhao Wu

"Quantum Information with Color Center in Diamond" Advisor: Hailin Wang

Anni Xiong

"Search for Charged Higgs through a Reinterpretation of a Dark Meson Search with ATLAS Experiment Based on Run 2 data of LHC Proton-Proton Collisions" Advisor: Stephanie Majewski

Master's Candidates

Samantha Rae Callos Conner Eric Carnahan Kyle Thomas Cole Dominic Aeneas Dams Thomas Dylan Driscoll Calla Ann Hinderks Gabriel Alejandro Jacobo Pamplona

Baccalaureate Candidates

Calvin Zachary Ajizian ⁶ Mason Earl Andrews Emily Patricia Reis Avey ^{2 4 6} Joshua Robert Braband Michaela Marie Cheechov ^{3 6} Isabelle Ann Shupe Dana ^{2 4 6} Aidan P. Gardner-O'Kearny ^{4 6} Elias S. Herb ^{2 6} Maxwell Martin Howard ^{2 6} Holden Emmett Jose ⁶ Evan James Knox

Minor Degree Candidates

Ryan S. Doolittle Keagan D. Brenna Shane Murphy Cameron-Pizzo Raylor Ruile Liu Lexington Amber Mandachi Benjamin Robert Mannix Oliver Y. Miller Eleanor Alexandra Schnee Natalie Kaye Velez Juliet Adrienne Wright

Sophia Marie Labucay Declan Xavier Lynch ^{3 6} Silkie Lehua Melloul Owen A. J. Mitchem ⁶ Marcus Daniel Polk ⁶ Gage Rehberger Talia Marae Ruehr Jack Thomas Siekkinen ^{1 6} Drew Jackson Tweedale ⁶ Jon S. Tyson ^{3 6}

Henry Allen Gipson Christopher A. Mongar

UNIVERSITY OF OREGON

John Karl Scholz, President Christopher P. Long, Provost and Senior Vice President Chris Poulsen, Tykeson Dean of Arts and Sciences Elliot Berkman, Divisional Associate Dean, Natural Sciences

ALUMNI ASSOCIATION

To learn more about the UO Alumni Association, visit **alumni.uoregon.edu**

HONORING NATIVE PEOPLES AND LANDS

The University of Oregon is located on Kalapuya Ilihi, the traditional indigenous homeland of the Kalapuya people. Following treaties between 1851 and 1855, Kalapuya people were dispossessed of their indigenous homeland by the United States government and forcibly removed to the Coast Reservation in Western Oregon. Today, descendants are citizens of the Confederated Tribes of the Grand Ronde Community of Oregon and the Confederated Tribes of the Siletz Indians of Oregon, and continue to make important contributions in their communities, at UO, and across the land we now refer to as Oregon.

We express our respect for all federally recognized tribal nations of Oregon. This includes the Burns Paiute Tribe; the Confederated Tribes of the Coos, Lower Umpqua and Siuslaw Indians; the Confederated Tribes of the Grand Ronde Community of Oregon; the Confederated Tribes of Siletz Indians of Oregon; the Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation; the Confederated Tribes of Warm Springs; the Coquille Indian Tribe; the Cow Creek Band of Umpqua Tribe of Indians; and the Klamath Tribes. We also express our respect for all other displaced Indigenous peoples who call Oregon home.



