

UNIVERSITY OF OREGON COMMENCEMENT

SUNDAY, JUNE 15, 2025



COLLEGE OF ARTS AND SCIENCES DEPARTMENT OF MATHEMATICS

COMMENCEMENT CEREMONY

SUNDAY, JUNE 15, 2025 · 1:00 P.M. STRAUB HALL

Welcome and Opening Remarks Daniel Dugger Department Head and Professor

Presentation of Awards

Graduate Awards

Frank W. Anderson Distinguished Teaching Award Francis Dunn

Undergraduate Awards

E.E. and E.J. DeCou Prize in Mathematics William Doerr, Oregon Six recipient Andrew Rehmann, summa cum laude

Marion Walter Future Teachers Award Zoë Tandingan

Erwin and Gertrude Juilfs Scholarship in Mathematics Mahina Carlon Kellan Murakami

Charles W. and Elizabeth H. Curtis Scholarship in Mathematics Benjamin Goldlust

Sam C. and Ruth Ann Saunders Scholarship in Mathematics Cat Annjanette

Undergraduate Speaker

Abby Lewis

2025 Mathematics graduate, cum laude

Presentation of Doctoral and Master's Candidates Michael Price

Assistant Department Head and Distinguished Teaching Professor

Presentation of Baccalaureate Candidates Hayden Harker

Head Undergraduate Advisor and Senior Instructor

Recessional

Adjournment and Reception

Dessert bar, coffee, and tea in Straub Hall Commons

Fenton Hall



DEGREE CANDIDATES

Note: Not an official degree list. Students listed are eligible to participate in the commencement ceremony at the time this program was printed.

Doctoral Candidates

Neda Bagherifard

"An Excision Theorem in Heegaard Floer Theory" Advisor: Robert Lipshitz, Professor

Tatyana Benko

"Double Boxes and Double Dimers" Advisor: Benjamin Young, Associate Professor

Halley Fritze

"Multiscale 2-mapper – Exploratory Data Analysis Guided by the First Betti Number" Advisor: Dev Sinha, Associate Professor

Cruz Godar

"Bijectivizing the PT-DT Correspondence" Advisor: Benjamin Young, Associate Professor

Siavash Jafarizadeh

"Equivariant Khovanov Homology and Equivariant Ribbon Concordance" Advisor: Robert Lipshitz, Professor

Nicolas Jaramillo Torres

"Diagrammatics of Folded Soergel Bimodules of Type A1xA1" Advisor: Benjamin Elias, Professor

Jacob Lebovic

"Homotopy Types of Spaces of 2-dimensional Functorial Field Theories" Advisor: Dev Sinha, Associate Professor

Dennis Nguyen

"Cobordism Obstructions to Complex Sections" Advisor: Boris Botvinnik, Professor

Ville Nordstrom

"On the Map Induced on Hochschild Homology of Matrix Factorization Categories by the Inclusion of a Divisor" Advisor: Alexander Polishchuk, Professor

Jaxon Shumaker

"Classification of Quartic Monogenic Orders" Advisor: Benjamin Young, Associate Professor

Chandan Tankala

"Mean Field Langevin Dynamics, Neural Networks, and Ising Model" Advisor: David Levin, Associate Professor

Emily Autumn Windes

"Perturbed Special Lagrangian Submanifolds" Advisor: Boris Botvinnik, Professor

Master's Candidates

Jerry Cheng Annika Christiansen

Baccalaureate Candidates

Sequoia Anichini Computer Science, Math Jamayka Mae Baarde Math Keagan D. Brenna Math Kay Brown Math Shane Cameron-Pizzo Math Sydney Char Math Jacob Coller Math Kamaya Deville Math and Computer Science William Doerr 145 Math Rvan Doolittle Math and Computer Science Joseph Dylan Math and Computer Science Emily Elbaum³ Math Ethan Ferrer-Perry Math Emma Gardner Math Makenna Michelle Greenwalt³ Math

Benjamin Robert Homan Cory Peters

Kylie Griffiths³ Computer Science, Math Isabella Harker Math. Computer Science²⁴ Pieter Larsen Hilton Math Foster Wakefield Hobbs Math and Computer Science Ethan Howell Math, Philosophy Chelsea Suque Jarel Math Tucker Jensen Math, Religious Studies Oliver Kaur Math Klaudia Kazimierska Math Abby Lewis ^{3 4} Cinema Studies, Math Weitong Liu Math Dax Lynch³ Physics, Math, Computer Science Matthew Michaels Math Jane Morgan Math. Economics Cooper Myton Math and Computer Science

Kate Josephine Ortloff ² *Math* Christopher Pearce *Math and Computer Science* Tomas Renato Peña Rosales *English, Math* Andrew Rehmann ^{1 4} *Math, Computer Science, Economics* Ethan Reinhart ² *Computer Science, Math* Sophia Salter Math Mariposa Jennifer Skov ^{3 4} Math Olivia Ryann Math Zoë Tandingan Math Clio Tsao Math and Computer Science

UNIVERSITY OF OREGON

John Karl Scholz, President Christopher P. Long, Provost and Senior Vice President Chris Poulsen, , Tykeson Dean of Arts and Sciences

ALUMNI ASSOCIATION

To learn more about the UO Alumni Association, visit **alumni.uoregon.edu**

HONORING NATIVE PEOPLES AND LANDS

The University of Oregon is located on Kalapuya Ilihi, the traditional indigenous homeland of the Kalapuya people. Following treaties between 1851 and 1855, Kalapuya people were dispossessed of their indigenous homeland by the United States government and forcibly removed to the Coast Reservation in Western Oregon. Today, descendants are citizens of the Confederated Tribes of the Grand Ronde Community of Oregon and the Confederated Tribes of the Siletz Indians of Oregon, and continue to make important contributions in their communities, at UO, and across the land we now refer to as Oregon.

We express our respect for all federally recognized tribal nations of Oregon. This includes the Burns Paiute Tribe; the Confederated Tribes of the Coos, Lower Umpqua and Siuslaw Indians; the Confederated Tribes of the Grand Ronde Community of Oregon; the Confederated Tribes of Siletz Indians of Oregon; the Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation; the Confederated Tribes of Warm Springs; the Coquille Indian Tribe; the Cow Creek Band of Umpqua Tribe of Indians; and the Klamath Tribes. We also express our respect for all other displaced Indigenous peoples who call Oregon home.



