

UNIVERSITY OF OREGON COMMENCEMENT

DEPARTMENT OF HISTORY

MONDAY, JUNE 16, 2025

DEPARTMENT OF HISTORY

COMMENCEMENT CEREMONY

MONDAY, JUNE 16, 2025 · 4:00 P.M. STRAUB HALL

Welcome and Opening Remarks Ryan Tucker Jones Department Head

Commencement Address Alexander Dracobly

Teaching Professor

Remarks on Behalf of the Graduates Juan Pablo Ochoa

Class of 2025

Presentation of Doctoral and Master's Candidates **Julie Hessler**

Director of Graduate Studies

Presentation of Baccalaureate Candidates Tim Williams

Director of Undergraduate Studies

Closing Remarks
Ryan Tucker Jones

Adjournment and Reception

Light refreshments will be provided outside Straub Hall and at the Ford Alumni Center

DEGREE CANDIDATES

Note: Not an official degree list. Students listed are eligible to participate in the commencement ceremony at the time this program was printed.

Doctoral Candidates

Spencer Abbe

"The Dangers Which Plague This Country': Empire and Disaster in the

North Pacific, 1700-1995" Advisor: Marsha Weisiger

Patience Collier

"Papat?mnana´x_a Ti´in ku Tiicha´m, The Land and People Tell Each Other's History: Strengthening Tribal Sovereignty on the Western

Columbia Plateau, 1854-1940"

Advisor: Jeffrey Ostler

Kwangyeol Ko

"Khrushchev's Perestroika: The Sovnarkhoz Reform in Soviet Dnipropetrovs'k, 1957–1965"

Advisor: Julie Hessler

Adam Quinn

"Computer Capitalism: Environment, Health, and Labor in the American

Computer Industry" Advisor: Steven Beda

Master's Candidates

Hailey Brink

Advisor: Marsha Weisiger

Rishav Chatterjee

Advisor: Arafaat Valiani

Audrey Foster

Advisor: Lissa Wadewitz

Lee Gray

Advisor: Ocean Howell

Lisa Hirschmann

Advisor: David Luebke

Grace Iverson-Harris

Advisor: Annelise Heinz

Sarabeth Johnson

Advisor: Julie Hessler

Ravinder Kumar

Advisor: Arafaat Valiani

Jake Nagorski

Advisor: Julie Hessler

Griffin O'Neill

Advisor: Vera Keller

Grace Elizabeth Weible

Advisor: Julie Weise

Baccalaureate Candidates

Ryan Campbell 67

Courtney Albanese ^{3 4 7} Seiya McConney
Kate Arbon Colin McGinley
Rory Aspin Jared McGinnis ^{3 4}
Francisco Benedetto ^{3 4} Zoë McKeehan ³

Logan Blake
Sarah McVeety ²⁷

Jordan Bowers ³⁷
Fox Melo ³⁴⁷

Syd Montague

Ned Morris

Zach Case Kamelya Most ²
Yudith Chavez-Flores Autumn Nash
Grace Curley ¹⁴ Kayla Naylor

Isaac Dennerline Juan Pablo Ochoa 7 Grace Denny 27 Makoto Parchen Shaun Fonda Devin Pellegrini Sam Gaebe Kaelan Reagan Gavin Gasperini 167 Matthew Rocha Madison Gouge Victoria Rodriguez Adam Grossman Anika Rogaski Karlie Guilliot 3 4 7 Tannyr Rose 267 Peyton Hankins Hikaru Saito

Samuel Hayes Augustus Schrankel

George Hosford-Cook David Sha
David Hughes Shank Shank

Paige Johnson Harrison Strom ²⁴⁷

Audrey Keane Max Sturm

Katelyn Kelm Camryn Sutherland
Noah Kemper Vincent Thomason
Isaac Kim Laurelynn Tullius 3 4

Grant Kyung Andrew Vitt ³
Zach Lentz Kaiser Wagner
Colin Lyman Kaylee Werner
Sophia Mason ^{3 4 7} Grace Wilder ^{2 7}

Nik Matusof Ellie Will

¹ summa cum laude ² magna cum laude ³ cum laude ⁴ Phi Beta Kappa ⁵ Oregon Six 6 department honors 7 department award

UNIVERSITY OF OREGON

John Karl Scholz, President

Christopher P. Long, Provost and Senior Vice President

Chris Poulsen, Tykeson Dean of Arts and Sciences

ALUMNI ASSOCIATION

To learn more about the UO Alumni Association, visit **alumni.uoregon.edu**

HONORING NATIVE PEOPLES AND LANDS

The University of Oregon is located on Kalapuya Ilihi, the traditional indigenous homeland of the Kalapuya people. Following treaties between 1851 and 1855, Kalapuya people were dispossessed of their indigenous homeland by the United States government and forcibly removed to the Coast Reservation in Western Oregon. Today, descendants are citizens of the Confederated Tribes of the Grand Ronde Community of Oregon and the Confederated Tribes of the Siletz Indians of Oregon, and continue to make important contributions in their communities, at UO, and across the land we now refer to as Oregon.

We express our respect for all federally recognized tribal nations of Oregon. This includes the Burns Paiute Tribe; the Confederated Tribes of the Coos, Lower Umpqua and Siuslaw Indians; the Confederated Tribes of the Grand Ronde Community of Oregon; the Confederated Tribes of Siletz Indians of Oregon; the Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation; the Confederated Tribes of Warm Springs; the Coquille Indian Tribe; the Cow Creek Band of Umpqua Tribe of Indians; and the Klamath Tribes. We also express our respect for all other displaced Indigenous peoples who call Oregon home.

