

UNIVERSITY OF OREGON COMMENCEMENT

ENGLISH FOLKLORE AND PUBLIC CULTURE

SUNDAY, JUNE 15, 2025

ENGLISH DEPARTMENT FOLKLORE AND PUBLIC CULTURE PROGRAM

COMMENCEMENT CEREMONY

SUNDAY, JUNE 15, 2025 · 4:00 P.M. EMU BALLROOM

Prelude Quartetto Capriccio

Welcoming Remarks and Introductions Mark Whalan

Robert and Eve Horn Professor of English English Department Head

Commencement Address

Elizabeth Wheeler

Professor of English

Presentation of Doctoral and Master's Candidates Stacy Alaimo

Director of Graduate Studies

Recognition of Awards Corbett Upton

Associate Director of Undergraduate Studies

Valedictorian Address Alana Cole Sophia Freeman

Presentation of Baccalaureate Candidates Stephanie Clark

Director of Undergraduate Studies

Presentation of Folklore Master's and Baccalaureate Candidates

Gordon Sayre

Director of Folklore

Closing Remarks
Mark Whalan

Postlude

Quartetto Capriccio

Adjournment and Reception

Faculty in Attendance

Elizabeth Bohls
Kirby Brown
Mattie Burkert
José Cortez
Rachel Eccleston
Addison Koneval
Tres Pyle
Ben Saunders
Elizabeth Wheeler
Mary Wood

UNIVERSITY HONORS

Summa Cum Laude

Top 2 percent of the university graduating class

Nancy Elizabeth Biegel Sophia Marilyn Freeman Alana M. Cole Elena Lillian Kirschner Anika Carin Cusimano Aoibhinn Vasil O'Shea

Magna Cum Laude

Top 5 percent of the university graduating class

Lara Akmehmet Corrin Elizabeth Hoyer
Kai J DeCarli Emma O. Kaisner
Maddy Marie Duquette Kayla M. Kuo
Ella Simone Gordon Kyla Marie Schmitt
Emily Ann Housley Claire Roselyn Siala

Cum Laude

Top 10 percent of the university graduating class

Francisco B. Benedetto Haven Sue Nasif
Malou Zoe Blom Danielle Alexandra Richard
Hannah Kathryn Flewell Skyla Jade Rosario
Jordan Elizabeth Gegus Charlotte Jane Stoeger
Milan S. Geurin Anna Elizabeth Tiritilli
Patrick David Henslee Sadie June Tresnit
Taya Jean Kendrick Madison L. Yarbrough
John Bjorn Knutson

DEGREE CANDIDATES

Note: Not an official degree list. Students listed are eligible to participate in the commencement ceremony at the time this program was printed.

Doctoral Candidates

Michael George Donkin

Min Young Park

Maddie A. Pflueger

Master's Candidates

Adrienne Clara Bosworth Frida Katharina Heitland Shane Hoyle

Addison Alexis Knight

Katheryne Grace Laqua Rebeca Rivera Silva Samantha Stringham

Master's Degree Candidates Folklore and Public Culture

Kieran AW Blokhuis Nat Rose Ivy

Linnea Catherine Hill Salma Valadez Marquez

¹ summa cum laude ² magna cum laude ³ cum laude ⁴ Phi Beta Kappa ⁵ Oregon Six ⁶ department honors

2025 Class Valedictorians

Alana Cole Sophia Freeman

Baccalaureate Candidates English

Aisha Lise Abdoul Esmeralda Gonzalez
Lara Akmehmet ² Ella Simone Gordon ²
Rachel Marianne Allen Emilee Hannan
Francisco B. Benedetto ³ Pluma Lee Haarstad
Isabel Antonia Benton Ally O. Hartney

Nancy Elizabeth Biegel ¹ Patrick David Henslee ³

Malou Zoe Blom ^{3 4 7} Emily Ann Hill

Ashleen Kaur Brar ⁶ Dariian Layne Alissa Holloway

Chloe Anneliese Brindell Emily Ann Housley ^{2 6}
Elizabeth A Burket-Thoene Corrin Elizabeth Hoyer ^{2 4 6}

Ashley Kay Cadiente Ella O'Neil Hudson
Ava Renee Caporizzo Claire C Hultgren
Maya Chesak Alice Helene Judge

Jeffrey Robert Cleasby-Mayeda
Alana M. Cole 146
Emma O. Kaisner 267
Bridget Nicole Collins
CeCe Cynthia Kasper
Anika Carin Cusimano 1
Taya Jean Kendrick 36
Abbigale Lou Dean
Elena Lillian Kirschner 17

Abbigale Lou Dean Elena Lillian Kirschner
Kai J. DeCarli ² John Bjorn Knutson ^{3 7}
Alexis Renee DePew Peri Elizabeth Krolczyk
Samara Nicole DePew Kayla M. Kuo ^{2 6 7}

Kloee Dillingham Grant D. Kyung
Dawson D. Duckworth Sierra Lane

Maddy Marie Duquette ^{2 4 6}
Emily Dannette Dutton ⁷
Hannah Rose Estrella

Benjamin Thomas LeBlanc
Jude Rose Lee
Isaac Eugene Means

Katy Elisa Feist Jaiden Christine Mitchell

Hannah Kathryn Flewell ^{3 4 6} Hannah Josephine Mogenson Sophia Marilyn Freeman ^{1 4 6 7} Malachi Tyler Murphy

Jordan Elizabeth Gegus ³

Milan S. Geurin ³

Haven Sue Nasif ^{3 4}

Shawn Marquese Nauden

Beau Gregory Glynn Anilah Elyse Neal

¹ summa cum laude ² magna cum laude ³ cum laude ⁴ Phi Beta Kappa ⁵ Oregon Six ⁶ department honors

Aoibhinn Vasil O'Shea¹ Chloe Lorraine Oshins Madeline Grace Peil Alex Nicole Pelayo

Tomas Renato Peña Rosales 7 Lillian Frances Pitkin

Kaelan Anne Reagan

Danielle Alexandra Richard 3 4 7

Lucy Norma Roache Skyla Jade Rosario³ Payton Maryann Rosello Kyla Marie Schmitt 26 Claire Roselyn Siala²

Ashley Kimura Simunic

Cassidy Smith

Tessa Emilie Stensaas Elizabeth Stocking

Charlotte Jane Stoeger ^{3 7}

Lexi Sutter

Anna Elizabeth Tiritilli 3 Sadie June Tresnit 3 4 6 Hailey Ann Upton Lucia Ventura Dani Paige Waltman

Alexis Allyn Woodrum Madison L. Yarbrough ³⁷

Baccalaureate Candidates Folklore and Public Culture

Ashley-Rose Ione Bellendaine Abby Camila Cain Bushman Juno Alexandra Ellerbee

Olivia Anne Kuehl Keira Lisa Lin

UNIVERSITY OF OREGON

John Karl Scholz, President

Christopher P. Long, Provost and Senior Vice President **Chris Poulsen**, Tykeson Dean of Arts and Sciences College of Arts and Sciences

ALUMNI ASSOCIATION

To learn more about the UO Alumni Association, visit **alumni.uoregon.edu**

HONORING NATIVE PEOPLES AND LANDS

The University of Oregon is located on Kalapuya Ilihi, the traditional indigenous homeland of the Kalapuya people. Following treaties between 1851 and 1855, Kalapuya people were dispossessed of their indigenous homeland by the United States government and forcibly removed to the Coast Reservation in Western Oregon. Today, descendants are citizens of the Confederated Tribes of the Grand Ronde Community of Oregon and the Confederated Tribes of the Siletz Indians of Oregon, and continue to make important contributions in their communities, at UO, and across the land we now refer to as Oregon.

We express our respect for all federally recognized tribal nations of Oregon. This includes the Burns Paiute Tribe; the Confederated Tribes of the Coos, Lower Umpqua and Siuslaw Indians; the Confederated Tribes of the Grand Ronde Community of Oregon; the Confederated Tribes of Siletz Indians of Oregon; the Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation; the Confederated Tribes of Warm Springs; the Coquille Indian Tribe; the Cow Creek Band of Umpqua Tribe of Indians; and the Klamath Tribes. We also express our respect for all other displaced Indigenous peoples who call Oregon home.

