

UNIVERSITY OF OREGON

# CHEMISTRY AND BIOCHEMISTRY

SUNDAY, JUNE 15, 2025

# COLLEGE OF ARTS AND SCIENCES DEPARTMENT OF CHEMISTRY AND BIOCHEMISTRY

# COMMENCEMENT CEREMONY

# SUNDAY, JUNE 15, 2025 · 4:00 P.M. SOUTHWEST CAMPUS GREEN

# Welcome

Victoria DeRose

Professor and Department Head

# Address to the Class of 2025 Scott Hansen

Associate Professor

# Presentation of Candidates

Michael Koscho

Senior Instructor and Associate Department Head

Closing Remarks
Victoria DeRose

Reception

## **UNIVERSITY HONORS**

#### Magna Cum Laude

#### Top 5 percent of the university graduating class

Stephanie E. AustinBronwen F. LinkWeston L. BodleOliver M. LoretoEthan K. BusiZachary E. MarshallCaitlyn M. CannanLogan C. Russo

#### Cum Laude

#### Top 10 percent of the university graduating class

Megan A. Adamec Caleb H. Moon
Nadia F. Barnard Natalie E. Sande
Chloe A. Erickson Cherish M. Sparling
Lilliana H. Granados Amanda M. Vance
Grace E. Inman Waverly N. Wilson
Payton M. Jefferis

# Phi Beta Kappa

Megan A. AdamecBronwen F. LinkNadia F. BarnardOliver M. LoretoEthan K. BusiCaleb H. MoonLilliana H. GranadosWaverly N. Wilson

## **DEGREE CANDIDATES**

Note: Not an official degree list. Students listed are eligible to participate in the commencement ceremony at the time this program was printed.

## **Biochemistry Baccalaureate Candidates**

Megan A. Adamec Zachary E. Marshall

Julio C. Barrales Miranda

Lily Miller

Siani A. Beck

Caleb H. Moon

Elizabeth A. Borst

Hannah E. Novak

Ethan K. Busi

Kayla Cho

Ari A. Periche

Alexandra B. Demos

Raymund R. Reye

Raymund R. Reyes Julianna N. Escobar Mary J. Rushing Avery J. Gonzalez Natalie E. Sande Josmarie Graciani Jasper A. Sterling Lilliana H. Granados Zachary T. Stewart Reed K Talus Payton M. Jefferis Ava P. Komons Mia P. Tamashiro Sarah J. Kraske Kristina U. Trinh Bronwen F. Link Joseph R. Wallis Oliver M. Loreto Julia P Woolf

# Chemistry Baccalaureate Candidates

Anastasia B. Andreeva Grace F. Inman Stephanie E. Austin Jacob N. Koscho Nadia F. Barnard Jaden Nguyen Weston L. Bodle Jacob P Powell Caitlyn M. Cannan Marisa Reiter Matthew C. Confer Logan C. Russo Helen C. Davis Cherish M. Sparling Chloe A Frickson Emily B. Sverdrup Grant H. Felciano Lily A. Taylor Tyler J. Fox Amanda M Vance Amelia P. Hartman-Warr Ethan H. Westerhout

#### **Master of Science Candidates**

Ifra Ilyas Ansari Alexander H. Batelaan Rachel L. Galfo Christopher R. Griffin Danah N. Hijaz Golnaz Navidi

## Advanced Materials Analysis and Characterization Program

Mohammad E. Ali David J. Doughty Travis C. Ford

## Electrochemistry Master's Internship Program

Paul O. Abi

Khouloud Aldura

David Diaz

Nicholas Dominic

Daniel R. Durrant

Christian E. Emeodi

Lucia A Fortado

Andrew C. Goldman

Elias Barsenga Hassen

Morgan R. Lebby

Guillermo E. Mier y Teran

Wycliffe O. Misigo

Rocco S. Molinelli

Carter D. Ness

Ma'ayan Shahar

Matthew D. Soto

Isaac J. Triplett

Timothy D. Wells

Gregory M. Wettlaufer

Thedo S. Wibawa

#### **Doctoral Candidates**

#### Tara D. Clayton

"Late-Stage Transformations of Cycloparaphenylenes" Advisor: Ramesh Jasti, Professor

#### Nico E. Conoan Nieves

"Utilizing Single-Molecule Fluorescence Microscopy to Elucidate Conformational Dynamics of RNA"

Advisor: Julia R. Widom, Assistant Professor

#### **Amanda G. Davis**

"Investigating the Reactivities and Stabilities of Protic Small Molecule Bioregulators"

Advisor: Michael D. Pluth, Professor

#### Willow A. Davis

"Pnictogen-assisted Self-assembly as a Tool to Study Cyclic Thiol-Disulfide Interchange"

Advisor: Darren W. Johnson, Professor

#### Isabella S. Demachkie

"Antiaromaticity, s-Indacene, and Molecular Electronics" Advisor: Christopher H. Hendon, Associate Professor

#### **Andres S. Guerrero**

""Click-enabled" Pt(II) Complexes for Investigation of Nucleolar Stress Induction" Advisor: Victoria J. DeRose, Professor

#### **Andrew S. Holston**

"Large Scale Engineering of Chimeric Histidine Kinases" Advisor: Calin Plesa, Assistant Professor

#### Konnor K. Jones

"Anionic:Cationic Surfactant Mixtures at the Oil-Water Interface" Advisor: Lawrence F. Scatena, PhD

#### Aaron J. Kaufman

"Mechanisms for Charge Selectivity in Photoelectrochemical Systems" Advisor: Shannon W. Boettcher, Professor

#### Minkyoung Kwak

"Study and Design of Catalyst-Ionomer Interfaces for Durable Anion-Exchange-Membrane Water Electrolyzer Devices"

Advisor: Shannon W. Boettcher, Professor

#### Kayd L. Meldrum

"Gábor Transform-Based Deconvolution and Quantitative Analysis Methods for Electrospray Mass Spectrometry of Intact Biomolecules"

Advisor: James S. Prell, Associate Professor

#### Sophia R. Phillips

"An Evolutionary and Biochemical Approach to Understanding the Mechanism of Activation of Innate Immune Receptor TLR4/MD-2 with Exogenous Lipopolysaccharides and Endogenous S100A9"

Advisor: Mike J. Harms, Associate Professor

#### Hannah C. Pigg

"Investigating the Distinct Pt(II)-Induced Nucleolar Stress Pathway Using Cellular and Biochemical Approaches"

Advisor: Victoria J. DeRose, Professor

#### Alexander Q. Rosen

"Beakers To Boardrooms: Functional Aluminum Oxide Coatings and their Use as an Industrial PFAS Alternative"

Advisor: Darren W. Johnson, Professor

#### Haley M. Smith

"Investigating and Applying Tools to Better Understand Biologically Relevant COS and H<sub>3</sub>S"

Advisor: Michael D. Pluth, Professor

#### Kira A. Thurman

"Influence of Electrode Microenvironments on the Interfacial Ion Transfer of Cu at Au(111) Surfaces"

Advisors: Shannon W. Boettcher, Professor, and Paul A. Kempler, Assistant Professor

#### **Efrain Vidal**

"Efforts Toward Diindenoarene Radicaloids: A Reach for Mixed Electronic Configurations and the Properties They Manifest" Advisor: Michael M. Haley, Professor

#### Olivia T. Vulpin

"Understanding Bipolar Membrane Durability and Performance in High-Current Electrochemical Systems"

Advisor: Shannon W. Boettcher, Professor

#### Zachary S. Walbrun

"Evolving Morphology and Excited State Dynamics During Deposition and Thermal Annealing of Organic Thin Films"

Advisor: Cathy Y. Wong, Associate Professor

#### Luca J. Zocchi

"Exploration of Novel Cores and Design Strategies for the Pnictogen-assisted Self Assembly of Disulfide Macrocycles"

Advisor: Darren W. Johnson, Professor

#### UNIVERSITY OF OREGON

John Karl Scholz, President

Christopher P. Long, Provost and Senior Vice President

Chris Poulsen, Tykeson Dean of Arts and Sciences

#### **ALUMNI ASSOCIATION**

To learn more about the UO Alumni Association, visit **alumni.uoregon.edu** 

#### HONORING NATIVE PEOPLES AND LANDS

The University of Oregon is located on Kalapuya Ilihi, the traditional indigenous homeland of the Kalapuya people. Following treaties between 1851 and 1855, Kalapuya people were dispossessed of their indigenous homeland by the United States government and forcibly removed to the Coast Reservation in Western Oregon. Today, descendants are citizens of the Confederated Tribes of the Grand Ronde Community of Oregon and the Confederated Tribes of the Siletz Indians of Oregon, and continue to make important contributions in their communities, at UO, and across the land we now refer to as Oregon.

We express our respect for all federally recognized tribal nations of Oregon. This includes the Burns Paiute Tribe; the Confederated Tribes of the Coos, Lower Umpqua and Siuslaw Indians; the Confederated Tribes of the Grand Ronde Community of Oregon; the Confederated Tribes of Siletz Indians of Oregon; the Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation; the Confederated Tribes of Warm Springs; the Coquille Indian Tribe; the Cow Creek Band of Umpqua Tribe of Indians; and the Klamath Tribes. We also express our respect for all other displaced Indigenous peoples who call Oregon home.

